Board of Directors

Chair Debra A. Cafaro Chairman and CEO Ventas, Inc.

President and CEO Jeffrey D. DeBoer

Treasurer
Thomas M. Flexner
Vice Chairman and Global Head
of Real Estate
Citigroup

Secretary
Tim Byrne
President and CEO
Lincoln Property Company

Dr. Thomas R. Arnold Global Head of Real Estate Abu Dhabi Investment Authority

Tray E. Bates, CCIM SIOR CIPS Principal Bates Commercial LLC Former Commercial Committee Chair National Association of Realtors®

Jeff T. Blau CEO Related Companies

Richard B. Clark Managing Partner & Chairman Brookfield Property Group

John F. Fish Chairman and CEO SUFFOLK

Scott O. Jones, P.E. Principal Jacobs Engineering Group Chair, Building Owners & Managers Association, International

Anthony E. Malkin Chairman and CEO Empire State Realty Trust, Inc.

Roy Hilton March Chief Executive Officer Eastdil Secured

Kathleen McCarthy Global Co-Head of Blackstone Real Estate Blackstone

Jodie W. McLean Chief Executive Officer EDENS

Robert R. Merck Senior Managing Director and Global Head of Real Estate Investments MetLife

Holly Neber CEO AEI Consultants 2019 President, CREW Network

Ross Perot, Jr. Chairman Hillwood

Amy Rose President, Chief Executive Officer Rose Associates, Inc.

William C. Rudin
Co-Chairman and CEO
Rudin Management Company, Inc.
Immediate Past Chair
The Real Estate Roundtable

Rob Speyer President and CEO Tishman Speyer

Robert A. Spottswood President Spottswood Companies, Inc. Chairman of the Board American Resort Development Association

Barry Sternlicht Chairman and CEO Starwood Capital Group

Owen D. Thomas Chief Executive Officer Boston Properties



September 11, 2019

The Honorable Lisa Murkowski Chairman Committee on Energy and Natural Resources U.S. Senate

The Honorable Bill Cassidy Chairman Subcommittee on Energy U.S. Senate The Honorable Joseph Manchin III Ranking Member Committee on Energy and Natural Resources U.S. Senate

The Honorable Martin Heinrich Ranking Member Subcommittee on Energy U.S. Senate

Dear Chairmen and Ranking Members:

The Real Estate Roundtable strongly supports S. 2137, the Energy Savings and Industrial Competitiveness (ESIC) Act. The ESIC Act, co-sponsored by Senators Rob Portman (R-OH) and Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), will be considered at the Subcommittee on Energy's legislative hearing this afternoon.

The U.S. real estate sector has made significant strides to improve the energy efficiency and reduce the carbon footprint of America's building infrastructure over the last decade. The ESIC Act will help drive further, cost-effective reductions in energy consumed by buildings and the occupants, tenants and visitors who live, work and play in them. S. 2137 will:

- Provide real estate stakeholders with opportunities to comment on code revisions offered by the Department of Energy (DOE) and thereby bring greater transparency to the currently opaque process by which federal code proposals are developed without formal opportunities for industry input;
- Import new economic and cost considerations into the process by which DOE proposes revisions to "model" building energy codes, that state and local bodies may ultimately adopt;
- Direct DOE to consider impacts on small businesses when developing its energy code submissions;
- Clarify standards for real estate appraisers and banks to consider energy efficiency capital investments when determining an asset's market value;
- Create a voluntary program that can lead to lower interest rates and greater qualifications for buyers seeking mortgages on new energy efficient homes;
 and

• Direct the Energy Information Administration to coordinate and share information with the Environmental Protection Agency, to improve the integrity of nationwide data each agency separately collects regarding the energy used by U.S. commercial buildings.

The Roundtable has been a long-time supporter of the ESIC Act, and we request inclusion of this letter in the record for today's legislative hearing. For more information, please contact Duane Desiderio, The Roundtable's Senior Vice President and Counsel.

Jeffrey D. DeBoer

President and Chief Executive Officer

cc: The Honorable Rob Portman
The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen
Member of the Senate Subcommittee on Energy